Picture
Sierra Orchid tree in bloom
When you think of orchid trees (genus Bauhinia), you don't normally think of plants that tolerate regular freezes in winter, but there are those few that will take quite a beating from old man winter. The Sierra Orchid tree (Bauhinia macranthera) hails from the western Sierra Madre in Mexico, in the state of Chihuahua. It forms a small tree up to 15 feet in height. This easy to grow plant blooms profusely in late spring and early summer, and off and on after that til fall. I found that they are not self fertile, so you'll need two plants to produce seeds. I do have two, so I get a small load of seeds each year to stash in the seed fridge. I've never had any freeze damage on my plants, and I've had mid teens Fahrenheit several times at my place. They do not like to go without water in an extreme drought, though, and will die back if they get too dry. It has been reported that this species has survived down to 4ºF in Hempstead, TX in the 1989 freeze, so it has real promise for those who want that tropical feel, but live in zones 8 or 7. Propagation of this tree is done only by seed. I've not been able to root it with any success, but seeds germinate readily after scarification and soaking. There are other Bauhinia species that can be grown in zone 8, including Mexican orchid tree (B. divaricata) with its small white flowers, Anacacho orchid tree (B. congesta), native to the southern Texas Hill Country having white (and occasionally pink) flowers, and also the red orchid tree (B. galpinii), as a die-back perennial native to South Africa. Far and away the best, however, is our friend from Chihuahua, Mexico, the Sierra Orchid Tree.


Picture
Pink Bauhinia macranthera flower
7/17/2012 08:23:28 am

Perfect piece of function you've done, this internet website is actually cool with very good details.

Reply
John Desrosiers
1/28/2013 11:58:57 pm

Are the Bauhinia seeds available.
John
850-228-6099

Reply
1/29/2013 04:43:30 am

I do have some seeds in storage now. I collect a few each year off the trees. Are you interested in some? They are pretty easy to grow, just have to nick and soak a day or two, then plant.

Reply
Bobby Payne
1/5/2014 10:42:35 pm

I have one tree that blooms a lot, especially now. I was reading your post about the seeds from the bauhinia tree. I plucke a few blooms looking for the seed and then read you article about having two trees in order to germinate the seed. Do you have any seeds to sell?

John Desrosiers
1/29/2013 08:56:02 am

Chuck,

I am interested. Could you send me your email address or phone number? I would like to talk about the trees and arrange for some seeds.

thanks a bunch,
John

Reply
Chuck Crauford
1/29/2013 09:14:40 am

My email address is [email protected]

Reply
J Hillard
4/19/2014 06:43:04 am

Chuck: Do you have any seeds you can sell off your Bauhinia macranthera? Though it would grow well in California, this plant is rarely offered in nurseries, at least in northern California. I would be interested in purchasing some seeds from you. Thanks for your time and consideration of this request. -- J. Hillard

Reply
Frank
3/20/2016 09:28:32 am

Hi I was wondering if still have seeds from your mexican orchid available that I can buy from you.

Thank you,
Frank

Reply



Leave a Reply.